Major Live module diary: Critics on organising the show

Apart from my own performance, we (the course) had other responsibilities and tasks regarding promotion, marketing and running the show. There were things we had decide together, such as poster and web design, name of the show, running order. The list below represents my responsibilities and whether I succeeded or not.

  1. Set up website – administrator. I had to choose a platform for our website and register us, so others can work on design. I chose wix platform as it was cheaper than wordpress to register domain.
  2. Set up google account. We agreed that google account would be useful for common usage. Also the google drive would be great platform to share documents and files to each other. So I set up google account and email (csmbooga@gmail.com) and gathered each artists media package – short biographies, photos, links. So, whoever works on content and design, can access that information any time.
  3. Magazine listings. As the promotion and web design went really slow, I contacted CRACK magazine admins and asked whether it is possible to advertise our gig in the next CRACK magazine release, or the website. They got back very quickly, but they said that the next release comes out after our show… So.. I thought a great idea would be USW radio. I had an idea about having 10-15 min podcast – talking about our show, artists, playing some tracks. I couldn’t find any contacts, the only option was to message the admin of their facebook page. I never got the reply.
  4. Our group was very slow about sorting things out and we came to decisions very slowly. It was over the deadline when we were supposed to submit our application for Chapter mini magazine. Me and Matthew got our heads together and wrote an event write-up while Jack filled out other necessary information.
  5. Jack was responsible for filming stuff (promotion videos) and also filming the final performance. I had a feeling that it wouldn’t happen so I booked a camera on the day so we could all have some nice footage of the performance. It turned out to be pointless, as camera didn’t come with SD card and when I borrowed the SD card from my personal mini camera, it did some settings which would not allow to film more than 20 seconds.
  6. I also was responsible for playing visuals during the show. For Tetrahex and Flowers for Freaks.

Overall, we did a poor job on promotion and marketing, as a result, there was only few people in the audience. I managed to bring two people.. There were many things that we could have done to get more people to watch the show. I guess we were all to busy with ourselves worrying about our own projects.

Major Live module diary: Critics on organising the show

Leave a comment