Major Live module diary: Preparing for the gig

We organised a gig for ourselves (CSM students) at Gwdihw pub in Cardiff on 25th of March. I am very excited, but also very nervous. There is one huge problem for me about this upcoming show. There is no acoustic piano, which means I have to completely re-organize my mIMG_0924usic and setup. I can’t play my solo pieces on digital keyboard. It just wouldn’t work and I wouldn’t agree with it. So, I decided to use some of field recordings I’ve done previously for foley and manipulate them on Ableton Live. I found my last years drone music project, which I enjoyed and decided that I will extend and improve it. Also, I will mix it with minimalistic piano motives. It is gonna be very dark, creepy and also little bit nostalgic 20 minutes non-stop performance.

As the performance is one non-stop session, I need to use 2 different templates of my midi controller (on the left). It will be very easy to mess up as I will be using them to turn on/down the volume on sounds and each sound has its effects, such as filters, delays, etc. In one word, very dangerous situation here. Very easy to mess up, when stress plays its part during performance. My solution will be labelling each of button using different colour sticky notes. Also, to make things easier I’ll match the colours with the setup in Ableton.

Major Live module diary: Preparing for the gig

Leave a comment